A Year Full Of Ups and Downs

So a lot has happened in the past year. Hence the reason for so few posts – even the most recent one that I posted was over six months in the works! So first off I moved in with my SO in our tiny little 50ft x 10ft trailer with our four pups. I can’t begin to tell you how happy I was to no longer do the long distance relationship deal since I had to move for school.

Zoey and her
Zoey and her “ghost eye”.
Looking so pensive
Nova looking so pensive
Gale and Mitzy
Gale and Mitzy

We’ve also managed to add two feral kittens to our pack after an unfortunate (or maybe fortunate for them?) incident with a live squirrel trap we set up to try to catch the little buggers crawling up in our wall. They have been an interesting addition to our house. At first we were not even able to walk by the crate we had them in without the kittens having a hissing and spitting fit. Now they can’t get enough cuddles! It was a long process, but definitely worth it in the end. Maybe I’ll take the time to get into the “how-to” portion at some point in the future. This was my first experience with taming feral cats, but I think it went well!

Kali, keeping my sewing kit warm
Kali, keeping my sewing kit warm
Durga, all high and mighty from her shelf
Durga, all high and mighty from her shelf

I’ve also finished with my clinical rotation with PA school – finally. It was a very, very long year with many ups and downs. My favorites would have to be Orthopedics and Emergency Medicine. I also had a job lined up in a prison and had the entire summer planned out for fixing up our home. And then I took my boards. And failed. By three points. THREE POINTS?!?!? I was frustrated to say the least, and although it is no excuse, I can’t help but feel that I should have rescheduled the test for a week or two later after having  two deaths in the family in the three weeks preceding my exam. No worries though, I have the exam scheduled for September now, and I just have to find a new job once I pass. Oh, and no income for me = no new windows, siding or roof for our tin can. But it’s ok, we made it last winter, we can make it another!

Graduation!
Graduation!

Although I have had a hard time with losing my grandfathers and failing my exam, I have been pushing forward, studying, and throwing myself into Stuck on Hookin’ and as much gardening as possible. We made the mistake of getting “free” fill from down the road from us (they charged a $10 loading fee they forgot to tell me about on the phone). It turned out to be mostly clay, so now I’ve been piling grass and compost into it as I plant leftover seeds. Not sure how much will come up – but I do know that my herbs are at least doing well! I am hoping to get a decent harvest this year, and have some plans including making some soap and trying my hand at making mint jelly. This will be interesting to say the least!

Herbs
Herbs
More Herbs
More Herbs
And my first harvest of Mint and Lavender!
And my first harvest of Mint and Lavender!

I actually have a lot of exciting ideas for Stuck On Hookin’, some of which I’ve already started. I plan on posting a lot of tutorials in the coming weeks, and possibly even getting a few more patterns written for you all to try. I’m also trying a lot of different ways to make a little money on the side in addition to saving money by using different rebate apps, repurposing and all that good stuff. Of course if you all have any ideas I would love to hear it! I have two months before I can take my boards and start working, so lots of time to stress about money (or the lack thereof). So, I think that’s about it as far as all the changes that have occurred in the past year. As much as I would have liked to pass my boards and so currently be learning my new job, I am thankful for this opportunity to reevaluate my current state of being. It’s been hard coming to terms with my own mind and body, but I’m using this time to work on myself, which I apparently really need to do. I now have time to work on my little side business, spend time with my friends and animals and stay grounded in my little garden. That is all for now, but I’ll be back soon! Blessed Be.

Leave a Reply

